Banner Ad

NTDA Elects New Board Members and Executive Officers

At the 95th AGM held on Thursday 25th April, the NTDA appointed two new directors to the Board of the National Tyre Distributors Association (the Company).

The first new Company Board appointment, ratified unanimously by the Executive Council, was that of Roger Griggs Communications Director at European Tyre Enterprise Ltd.


Roger is a highly respected Honorary Life Member of the NTDA and was awarded the National Chairman’s Award for Outstanding Contribution to the Tyre Industry in 2023. He previously served as an Executive Officer of the Association from 2013 to 2017 and as National Chairman, oversaw the development and implementation of the Corporate Plan which included the long-term objective of changing the Association’s legal status from a Trust to a company limited by guarantee, which was finally achieved in 2023.

Roger was appointed to the Board to replace Simon Wright of Halfords Commercial Fleet Services who is leaving the tyre industry to take up a senior position in the packaging industry. As Simon will no longer be a member representative and, therefore, not in a position to serve as Immediate Past National Chairman, Roger will also act in that capacity to provide continuity to both the Company and the Association.

Simon Wright’s last duty was to hand over the National Chairman’s badge of office to Board member Martin O’Brien Commercial Director at Halfords Commercial Fleet Services, who was unanimously elected and installed, for a second term in office. NTDA CEO Stefan Hay said: “Naturally, we wish Simon Wright all the very best in his future endeavours, but he is leaving the Association in safe hands, as Martin is universally recognised across the trade as an ambassador both for the NTDA and for its objectives. He worked closely alongside me as chairman from 2019-2002 during one of the most difficult times for the country and tyre trade, namely the Covid-19 pandemic. During that time, he continuously demonstrated clear strategic thinking, combined with a passion for ensuring that our members are well represented and cared for. Needless to say. I am delighted to have the opportunity to work with both him and Roger Griggs again as we continue to build an association that offers tangible benefits to our members.”

The second new Board appointment was that of Justin Ampofo FCCA (see below left) the Finance Director at NTDA supplier member Autotech Group. Justin replaces NTDA Honorary Life Member Donald Carmichael both as a Company Director and as Honorary Treasurer of the Association. Justin has a wealth of experience in financial management gained over 17 years working for an array of corporate business entities, charities, and trusts, making him a very worthy successor to Donald who has served as an Executive Council member, Vice National Chairman and, latterly for 10 years as Honorary Treasurer, since 2005.

Speaking about Donald’s retirement Stefan Hay said: “Donald has been a constant supporter of both me and the NTDA over the past 11 years of my tenure here. He is a trusted advisor, mentor and friend and I will miss his sage advice and guidance, but luckily, as we are both Wheelwrights and meet on a regular basis, our valued friendship will continue long into the future. Oh, and I’ve also managed to convince him to say one of his legendary GRACE at the Annual Dinner this year, as a final hurrah!”

Further Executive Officers elected at the AGM were Phil Robinson (above left) Senior Country Manager for UK, Ireland and Middle East at Marangoni who steps up from First Junior Vice National Chairman to Vice National Chairman and Stan Watson Retail Director at Protyre Autocare / Micheldever Tyre Services Ltd both of whom were elected to the Executive Council in 2021.

The NTDA Executive Council membership for 2024 – 2025 is as follows:

Dougie Smart – Arnold Clark Ltd, Prashant Chopra – Autogem Invicta Ltd, Justin Ampofo – Autotech Group, Simon King – Autotech Group, Joanna Saxton – Eden Tyres and Servicing, Chaz Ivill – ETB (Worcester) Ltd, Roger Griggs – ETEL, Chris Waters – GSF Car Parts, Robin Shaw – Halfords Autocentres Ltd, Martin O’Brien- Halfords Commercial Fleet Services, Craig Sprigmore – HiQ / Goodyear Dunlop, Chris Comport – Infleet Ltd, Mark Wellings – Kwik Fit, Mike Craddock – Malvern Tyres Ltd, Phil Robinson – Marangoni, Dene Arnold – Merityre Specialists Ltd, Stephen Callow – Merseyside Automotive Ltd, Tim Stott – Murfitts Industries Ltd, John Tarbox – Pan Auto Services, Stan Watson – Protyre Autocare, Ruby Claydon – RH Claydon Ltd, Campbell Strickland – Stapleton’s (Tyre Service) Ltd, Nick Harley – Tructyre, Sophie Lydon – Westgate Tyres, Roy Nutt – WH Nutt & Son