Banner Ad

New Formula E World Champion to be Crowned at the Hankook London E-Prix

As official partner and tyre supplier of the ABB FIA Formula E World Championship, Hankook is also title sponsor of the grand finale of Season 9 in Great Britain. The new world champion will be crowned at the Hankook London E-Prix (29th and 30th July) in the capital city on the River Thames.

Hankook Communications Director Felix Kinzer: “After the season-opener in Mexico City and the event in Rome, we at Hankook are pleased to be the title sponsor again at the grand finale of the Formula E season in London. Our premium product, the Hankook iON Race, has always emphatically demonstrated its quality and reliability at all the rounds so far, and in a wide range of different conditions – whether the track be wet or dry, hot or cold, rough or smooth, dusty or clean. It will once again support the drivers with the performance they require at the finale. However, its high energy efficiency is just as important. The final double-header of the year will see the 22 Formula E drivers once again put on a thrilling display of top-class, sustainable motorsport – hopefully with a lot of overtaking manoeuvres – at the end of which the new world champion will be crowned.”

Formula E is visiting the capital of the United Kingdom for the fifth time. The circuit at the “ExCel” convention centre is one of a kind in the fully-electric racing series: parts of the two-kilometre track lead the drivers through an exhibition hall. The result is a very special atmosphere for the spectators. “The switch between indoor and outdoor conditions will pose another major challenge for the drivers and the Hankook iON Race. Different weather conditions, air and track temperatures, and changing surfaces will really put the race tyre to the test. The drivers must also adapt to the different lighting conditions,” explains Manfred Sandbichler, Hankook Motorsport Director.

The race for the 2023 world title remains on a knife edge. Four drivers still have a mathematical chance of winning the world championship at the Hankook London E-Prix: leader Jake Dennis (195 points/Avalanche Andretti Formula E), second-placed Nick Cassidy (171 points/Envision Racing), Mitch Evans (151 points/Jaguar TSC Racing) in third, and finally Pascal Wehrlein (146 points/TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team) in fourth place.

The Hankook iON Race will be dressed up smart again for the grand finale. As they did in Mexico, Monaco and Rome, all the drivers will start on bright tread grooves in the Hankook colours of orange for performance and iON Blue for sustainability.